Couldn’t Mount File, The disc image file is corrupted

Here are some basic things you could try to resolve the issue: Last week my client ran into this issue where he was unable to mount ISO image on Windows 10. His case was a bit different. The mount option itself is missing! My initial thought was that he may have messed up with some of the system files. So I ran System File Checker. I rebooted the system and tried to mount the ISO image again. But still, I could not see the option. Then I noticed that he had installed a 3rd-party application to Mount the ISO image – called Virtual Clone. But the version he had installed was unsupported for his version of OS. When I tried to upgrade it to the new version, it failed. I used a free uninstaller software to remove it completely and rebooted the system. Then I tried to mount again – but still no luck! So I went to Control Panel > Default Programs to check if the file associations were set correctly.

I clicked on “Associate a file type or protocol with a program” and looked for ISO but I couldn’t find it. Finally, I decided we may need to run a Reset or Refresh Windows. But before carrying out a repair I thought of trying something. I went into the Windows Registry and checked the Shell entries for: It was still being associated with Virtual Clone instead of Windows.isoFile. The 3rd-party software had failed to uninstall correctly, and even the Uninstaller was unable to uninstall it fully! Read: Mount ISO option missing in Context Menu I had Windows 10 installed on my laptop so I went and extracted all the Shell keys related to ISO from different locations and merged them into one. I then imported that key into his registry and rebooted the system. It worked! I am now, able to see the mount option and it works perfectly fine. I have attached the registry file here so in case if you run into a similar problem you can just import this registry key. You can download the file to fix this problem by clicking here. Please do backup your Registry and create a system restore point first before you use it, so that that you can go back if you feel the need to do so. We hope something here helps you. Related errors:

Couldn’t Mount File, The disk image isn’t initializedCouldn’t Mount file, Sorry, there was a problem mounting the file.

Couldn t Mount File  The disc image file is corrupted in Windows 11 10 - 2Couldn t Mount File  The disc image file is corrupted in Windows 11 10 - 49