Microsoft Edge vs Mozilla Firefox browser

The basic features of Edge were good back then. But it was a very basic browser – that I would use only for reading. It underwent many changes in the past three years. Then the Windows 10 v1809 version added several more new features to Edge. With these latest improvements, it becomes necessary that we compare Edge to Mozilla Firefox once more as even Firefox has gone through many changes along with Edge.

Edge for Video and Audio

It is visible. Firefox is faster than ever. Actually, both Edge and Firefox are better than ever but in different areas. For streaming video, I use Edge as it allows 1080p resolution without the need for extensions. Firefox won’t go above 720p for certain sites and videos. I’ve heard of extensions to force 1080p Netflix on Firefox. Same way, Edge is best for streaming music such as SoundCloud. The quality is good, and it streams without buffering even on slower connections.

Firefox too is new now

You know that Edge was created from scratch instead of using the code of Internet Explorer. Well, Mozilla too dug deep into its code and came up with Firefox Quantum, based out of fresh and clean whiteboard (latest version at the time of writing this being version 62). In short, both browsers – Edge and Firefox – are now built around the new code to address current day Internet security issues all the while providing users with a good browsing experience. According to Mozilla,

Firefox for resource-intensive sites

I have been using Firefox as my main browser as I visit many sites at a time – sites that are complicated and heavy on resources. Edge sometimes fails to render these websites properly. I don’t know the reason, but resource intensive websites simply seem to fail on Edge. I have tested it on my computer, tablet, and even my Android phone.

Edge for Reading View, taking notes and doodling

For reading, Microsoft Edge provides a distraction-free atmosphere –, especially in the dark mode. It lets me control the font size so I can use a size that is easy on eyes. It also allows me to take Notes and doodle on the website pages that I can share directly with others using Edge.

Tab Preview and Hide Tabs option in Edge

I wish Firefox has the feature of collapsing all the open tabs for later use. Sometimes I open more tabs, and some of them are not to be used immediately. In such case, I can simply toss the tabs to the left if I am using Microsoft Edge. I can later expand them when required. This feature is missing in Mozilla Firefox. There is also tab preview feature in Edge. Though not necessary for me, it might be important for people who open tabs and forget which tab contains what content. It is a nice feature that you should try.

Firefox for online transactions, not Edge

Coming to e-commerce sites, I don’t use Edge for that. Something tells me Edge is not yet ready yet. Or it may be its metro interface that stops me from using it for e-commerce. I can trust Firefox as it is open source and has security codes at the place. I am not saying Edge cannot complete transactions online, but for some unknown reasons, I find that it feels uncomfortable. Another reason could be that I know what all extensions are my Firefox browser using. It is to say; I can have safety and privacy controls under my control if I am using Firefox Quantum. There are many extensions and plugins available for Firefox. There are extensions for Edge too, but the range is quite small. That gives an insecure feeling while transacting on Edge. It has yet to build the trust required to part with your credit card number and CVV and things like that.

Summary

Based on my personal experience, I would say use Edge for: Firefox comes with a better hand when it comes to Using only Microsoft Edge for everything may not be a good option for you even though Edge has the edge over the other browsers being lightweight and a different look altogether. I didn’t run extensive tests on memory and CPU functioning on these resources. I am just presenting what I experienced as the end user when using these browsers. Let us know what you think, your experience with Microsoft Edge and Mozilla Firefox. Post updated on 17th October 2018.